SELPA stands for Special Education Local Plan Area. In 1977, all school districts and county offices of education were required to join to form geographical regions of sufficient size and scope to provide for all of the special education service needs of children residing within the region boundaries. Each region developed a local plan describing how it would provide special education services.

The Humboldt - Del Norte Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA) is a two-county SELPA located on the beautiful north coast of California. The SELPA begins 200 miles north of San Francisco, extends to the Oregon border and encompasses 5,282 square miles. It is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the east by the Trinity and Klamath National Forests. Contained within its boundaries are miles of beaches, State and National Redwood Parks, the Hupa, Yurok and Tolowa Indian Reservations, more populated areas such as Eureka and Crescent City and it is home to Humboldt State University in Arcata.

Humboldt - Del Norte SELPA is comprised of 32 school districts, the Humboldt County Office of Education and the Del Norte County Office of Education. The region serves approximately 22,000 students, including approximately 3,550 students with special needs ranging from birth to age 22.

Each SELPA must have an Administrative Unit, the legal entity that receives funds. The Humboldt County Office of Education is the Administrative Unit for Humboldt-Del Norte SELPA.

SELPA responsibilities include, but not limited to:

  • Program availability for all children with disabilities

  • Curriculum/program development

  • Community Advisory Committee (CAC) support

  • Community awareness

  • Program coordination

  • Staff development

  • Procedural safeguards

  • Data collection/management

  • Fiscal management

  • Program review/evaluation

Humboldt- Del Norte SELPA Local Plan 

Contact Us